Thanks Giving!

Vance

Gyroplane CFI
Staff member
Aircraft
Givens Predator
Total Flight Time
2600+ in rotorcraft
We were having Thanks Giving Dinner at Darlene’s house, Ed’s sister at 3:15.

The Spirit of San Luis was closed and I wanted to save room for the pie and pudding anyway.

I studied for a while for my commercial until the siren’s song became too loud for me to resist.

I could see well across the Santa Maria Valley. There was a slight mist.

I thought I would just go down to the hanger and clean up a little and maybe do some stop and goes.

I did an extra careful preflight and greased the teeter bearings and spherical rod ends in the control system.

I spent some time with the Los Angles TAC planning my passage to Cable airport. I find the airspace challenging with the mountains rising up steeply very close to the edge of the air space of some of the airports. The LAX class B airspace is over the top of it all.

The song was getting louder in my head.

I grabbed a bite to eat down the street from the airport and when I returned I rolled The Predator outside and cleaned the rotor blades.

It was t shirt weather in November.

Wind at SMX was “light and variable.”

Where can I go for two and a half hours? I do not want to be late for Thanks Giving dinner.

I called Lockheed Martin for a flight to IZA and “there is no adverse weather to report along your route of flight.”

I felt unusually distracted so I worked my way though the preflight check list carefully. I pulled out my Los Angles Sectional and folded it appropriately.

SMX seemed deserted as I fired her up and checked ATIS as she settled into a steady idle. I called ground with Juliet for a taxi to runway 30.

The run up went well; I switched to mode C, tower frequency and pulled up to the hold short line.

I called the tower for a left downwind departure to the east south east.

“Experimental 142 Mike Golf runway 30 clear for takeoff, left downwind departure approved.”