Early A.C. Prerotator electric conversion?

Sounds like a one off conversion. Air Commands used the Wunderlich prerotator exclusively for many years until The Texas Air Command bunch copied it and only bought some parts from Wunderlich Inc.
Starter motor prerotators usually have the starter mounted right to the rotorhead.

It doesn't help now, but I am gong to make an E-rotator after a few other projects.
I have a lot of experience with brushless motors for RC and UAV's and there are some that are suitable.
I just need to do the new research to see who the current suppliers are, they change every few years....
I think a suitable solution can be made that has an all up weight around 5 to 8lbs.
Some of that depends on if a bendix is used, they aeem to all be heavy.
I have been playing with the concept of a cog belt drive and just leave it engaged, it can revert to an alternator
to recharge the starting battery during flight.
We have done this with brushless 3 phase motors coupled to a DA 100 engine with good results....

Sounds like a one off conversion. Air Commands used the Wunderlich prerotator exclusively for many years until The Texas Air Command bunch copied it and only bought some parts from Wunderlich Inc.
Starter motor prerotators usually have the starter mounted right to the rotorhead.
had 11 tooth drive of pmgr starter for chevy seem to mesh good . getting converted one way or another.

had 11 tooth drive of pmgr starter for chevy seem to mesh good . getting converted one way or another.
The benefit of a brushless modern DC motor is that it will only weigh a couple pounds, can be controlled by a speed controller, so it can be gradually accelerated and the lithium battery will also only weigh a couple pounds.
The entire assembly will weigh less than an automotive starter and all the components together will probably be smaller than a starter...
They could also be lined up on the mast and fit behind the frontal area of the mast, so no additional drag...