engine mount

tozz22

Aircraft
gyrobee
i just bought this gyro and i am new to gyros.Is the way this motor mounted look OK.it seems to be mounted about 2in. higher than some motor mounts that came with the gyro.i was also wondering if the tail HS looks OK.any help or advise would be much appreciated

Attachments

• Picture 003.jpg
    Picture 003.jpg
    142.6 KB · Views: 1
  • Picture 002.jpg
    Picture 002.jpg
    133.1 KB · Views: 1
  • Picture 001.jpg
    Picture 001.jpg
    134.2 KB · Views: 1
  • Picture 004.jpg
    Picture 004.jpg
    137.9 KB · Views: 1
bee mount

bee mount

it looks like the bee from bakersfield /fresno area ?

also looks like cuyuna engine if thats is the case the prop should be 60" with about 2" clearance between the blade end and the boom than it doesnot mater if the engine mount is higher or lower as far as the prop doesnot hit the boom ,also the prop center line should be with center of the shocks

thanks for the reply!,it is from bakersfield area and it has a cuyuna engine.i was just thinking the higher mounted motor might change the CG or make it more of a HTL gyro.do you know if it had a rotax engine if the prop would be in the same location of where it is now.the prop dose clear the boom by 2in.thanks again,Im new to all this stuff

Do a double hang test on the gyro first to determine where the CG is located on your machine, then you can measure the thrust line offset. Search the forum, there are several threads about how to do a double hang test.

Some quick observations.............

As it is mounted there is no vibration isolation between engine and frame, but adding some will probably cause problems with maintaining belt tension as the reduction drive is not attached to the engine case. A redesign would be needed to fix the problem.