New member, thinking about building a Hornet.

gilgsn

Total Flight Time
Hello Everyone,

This is my first post to this forum, so I'll introduce myself briefly before asking a couple questions.. I am 43, moved to Sarasota Florida from France seventeen years ago. I used to tow advertising banners on the French coast with an ultralight (replaced the 447 with a 532 ;-) it's legal over there, with an extension to your UL license. After a couple seasons, and the government taking about 60% of my money, I decided “screw this, I'm doing something else.” I have about 400Hrs of ultralight, and 250 of regular airplanes (PPL). Now I'm a freelance programmer. I miss flying a whole lot though, especially the ultralight kind, you know what I mean. By the way, I have an aviation web site: https://planenews.com

Here is a video of me flying my last “ultralight” : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IVfRBZRmm4s
That was more than 20 years ago.

I've been looking at the Hornet since the first documentation came out, and I was looking at the Gyrobee before that. That whole time, I've been reading about gyros, watching Youtube videos, etc. I never started building one, because I just couldn't afford it. Now I'm doing a little better, and I could build one taking my time. However, reading the numerous accident reports leaves me doubting the safety of pusher gyros. I emailed Ron Heron about his LW-3 and he told me it could make ultralight weight with a light engine and the bare minimum. I like the unobstructed visibility of the Hornet though. The construction method doesn't matter, I can weld. Maybe you guys can help me decide.

I am 6'2'', 200Lbs. Presumably, a 447 would work, but I heard they were discontinued, is that right? A 447 would probably allow a 10Lbs. Prerotator, but I doubt it would work with a 503. Breaks would be nice too. I don't care for instruments, but the strict minimum.