gyrocopter service ceiling

mintermark

I'm a new gyrocopter pilot looking for my own machine. The field elevation here is ~10,000' MSL. Could anyone give me some advice about which gyrocopters have resonable performance/service ceilings for mountain flying? Thanks for the help.

Mark,
Your geographic locale severely limits your choices.
I would go with nothing less than the Rotax 914 turbo on a light weight machine such
as a Dominator. If Leadville is your home base, you will be flying on the edge of legality
(pertaining to Sport Pilot regs if you are so licensed). Cost will be the largest contributing factor and the above suggestion is not cheap.
Also consider that whatever rotors you choose, at your altitude, you will need approximately 3 feet more of blade length up there than compared to sea level norm.
Good luck and safe flying,

Basically you'll need to move if you want to fly gyro's - sorry.

I have flown at 10,000 density alt several times,starting at 10,000 ft elevation and then

adding density alt will probably be more altitude than you will want to try to fly in on a

regular basis.

Best regards,eddie.....

Nothing to it really....

Nothing to it really....

Flown into Leadville with a gyro on a number of occasions. Usually through Weston Pass, once through Mosquito Pass. The key is power. You need to have an engine that will at least turbo normalize to the highest point that you will have nearby plus another 1000-2000 feet. The only engine that I feel comfortable with is the Rotax 914, but others may suffice. Long blades, light weight and power. And learning to avoid mountain burbles, downdrafts and not to fly up canyons. It actually is quite a kick to do low level crossings of high mountain peaks. The mountain goats look at you like you are crazy. Hmmm, never thought of it, maybe they are right. Nah.