What happened to the PRA website????

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
John: in another post/thread you stated that the service provider you are using is Ionos. About 2 years ago I took over a website for a non profit where the site was hosted on1&1 IONOS. The site was hard coded in html and I wanted to convert to a CMS but the Tech support was so poor I gave up and moved the Domain and Hosting to GoDaddy. Have had no issues with the site or GoDaddy at all.
This is the current delay. Been waiting for over 24 hours for a reply. Only need to set up the database it and should be running.
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
Oh, I forgot I made a no audio-video I can show you of the site running on my local machine.

This is what has been running since 12/31

 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
Well, it's been 5 days with IONOS technical support. I GIVE UP on them!!!

I'm letting them continue but just NOT I'm going to set up a new hosting plan with Godaddy. Let's see how long it takes if I buy the correct size disc space the 1st time at Godaddy. Thanks for the heads up!!

IONOS had me reimage the server. I keep telling them I'm finding fragments of the 1st server that was too small can't you just kill the entire package and start over. But IONOS tech support knows less than I do. I did not think that possible.
 

Sv.grainne

Active Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
629
Location
Kerrville, Texas
Well, it's been 5 days with IONOS technical support. I GIVE UP on them!!!

I'm letting them continue but just NOT I'm going to set up a new hosting plan with Godaddy. Let's see how long it takes if I buy the correct size disc space the 1st time at Godaddy. Thanks for the heads up!!

IONOS had me reimage the server. I keep telling them I'm finding fragments of the 1st server that was too small can't you just kill the entire package and start over. But IONOS tech support knows less than I do. I did not think that possible.
Good luck:

I have 6 websites hosted by GoDaddy and have had ZERO issues. I added the Deluxe CPanel hosting and also managed SSL (5 certificates). I even have a domain name/hosting that I didn't use that I added when I though RWF was going to be shut down!
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
Good luck:

I have 6 websites hosted by GoDaddy and have had ZERO issues. I added the Deluxe CPanel hosting and also managed SSL (5 certificates). I even have a domain name/hosting that I didn't use that I added when I though RWF was going to be shut down!
Let see... https://MentoneAirport.com. This is a default website Godaddy builds in ASP.NET where I only rewrote the first line.
So far I've built the server in record time. Bought the package at 2:pM about. less than 2.5 hours but now uploading and installing DDL's needed for .NET5

I have one call into technical support regarding the security certificate. They checked it out thoroughly?? They said I may need to wait for 24 hours to be recognized on the www. Is that true?

Next, I'll publish an empty .net5 website with no services or database connections to assure I have everything need to run a .net5 website.

If that runs only need to upload our entire history in two databases. That will take at least 8 to 12 hours of more WAITING. SIGH....
Then upload the real website.
PS:
I've asked my Nephew to remove all guns and sharp objects from the house. If it does run their server as it does on mine.
Might just blow my brains out or at least check in to a mental institution for idiots!
 

Sv.grainne

Active Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2020
Messages
629
Location
Kerrville, Texas
24hrs to get the security cert applied has been normal for me. On my G1SB.info took about 15 mins but that was a shell. May depend on how busy they are!
 

Brian Jackson

Platinum Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2004
Messages
3,282
Location
Hamburg, New Jersey USA
Aircraft
GyroBee Variant - Under Construction
I even have a domain name/hosting that I didn't use that I added when I though RWF was going to be shut down!
That's cool. I did the same thing when RWF went down for a while. Also through GoDaddy. Spent some money on it but then we were back up and running so I abandoned it. The forum's had a few iffy periods over the years but it has thankfully survived.
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
Well, a major step forward! After setting this up on Godaddy and learning even more about private servers. I switch back to repairing the IONOS security certificate myself and waiting 24 hours...
PRA.org is now running a TEST .Net5 EMPTY website on IONOS cheaper PRIVATE server.
Next need to test the database connection strings and make sure all the DLL are needed for the real website and DONE learning the products needed how to set them up and publish them!
 
Last edited:

turbo

Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2009
Messages
640
Location
stuart fl/ s windsor ct/ virgin gorda bvi
Aircraft
r-44, rv-6, helicycle
Total Flight Time
6,000+
it has been a long time since I have been on this forum. lots of great people here. good luck with getting the site going again.

have flown a gyro for a looong time, but owned a nice helicycle for 7 years and had a blast with it. traded it back to the original builder for a hot rod he built. thanks Bub.

keep on flying.
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
PRA's website is published.
It is in test more because It needs to email and I've not set up our private server's Email addresses until it was published.
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
Yes, actually a few hours after that last post it was up and running fine, on my browsers... Until 2 days ago.

And you can do me a favor Bobby.

Run PRA.org from any browser and tell me if you get the old 403 Error.

If you get the error then tell me. But the backdoor I found that works until Technical support fixes it.

On Firefox or Chrome browsers I've tested it on.
Just run it from a PRIVATE Page in Firefox or in Chrome they call it Incognito Page.
To do that just click the menu button in those browsers and click the Private or Incognito page.


The rest of the story:
Now the good news for me. I've passed the PRA nothing can be easy curse to IONOS.

I switch back to IONOS after I got a .net 5 server and published a .Net 5 test page running on GoDaddy because they cost 3 times as much.
When I called tech support to fix the security certificate myself. They said the normal we are not trained in that.
But then she said unless you want our new service that would cost you $75.00. From that time on it now becomes their problem.
This is the first HELP I've received from anyone even though I posted a request with an offer to pay anyone with experience publishing .Net 5.

I said, "SOLD". She was surprised and set up a ticket and they fixed it for me. Well, at least it was running on my browser since 8/31.
But Christene told me she got a 403 error on her tablet.
It ran on my cellphone and tablet when I tested it and assumed it was her tablet.
Then I saw it once but refresh the page and it was gone.
Now it's back for everyone I think? Not sure.

The best part is I can be playing with gyro's while they have to deal with no good deed goes unpunished = the nothing can be fast or easy with PRA's website curse.
 
Last edited:

JEFF TIPTON

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 17, 2007
Messages
2,969
Location
DICKSON, TN
Aircraft
Grumman AA5
Total Flight Time
1350
I also am having the 403 issue but McCutchen is not.

When I first went the PRA.ORG I could se the website, but I logged in and used the wrong password I now have the 403 issue anytime I go back to PRA.ORG.
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
I also am having the 403 issue but McCutchen is not.

When I first went the PRA.ORG I could se the website, but I logged in and used the wrong password I now have the 403 issue anytime I go back to PRA.ORG.
Thank you, my brother.
That is what makes no sense. Some people have no problem and some do and some are intermittent.
Tech Support has never seen the behavior either. It really blew their mind when I called them back and told them the backdoor solution where it always runs.
Just run it from a PRIVATE Page in Firefox or in Chrome they call it Incognito Page.
To do that just click the menu button in those browsers and click the Private or Incognito page.

I'm so glad it's their cruse now. This should be the last of the server errors.
Programming is child's play to create any page I want and fix bugs without anyone's help needed once they fix it.
 
Last edited:

j bird

Gold Supporter
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
1,749
Location
Cave Junction,OR.
Aircraft
Dominator/Airworthiness Certificate 9/06/12
Total Flight Time
26.5 duel,RAF,Sparrow-Hawk,Cavalon,Calidus.
Thank you, my brother.
That is what makes no sense. Some people have no problem and some do and some are intermittent.
Tech Support has never seen the behavior either. It really blew their mind when I called them back and told them the backdoor solution where it always runs.
Just run it from a PRIVATE Page in Firefox or in Chrome they call it Incognito Page.
To do that just click the menu button in those browsers and click the Private or Incognito page.

I'm so glad it's their cruse now. This should be the last of the server errors.
Programming is child's play to create any page I want and fix bugs without anyone's help needed once they fix it.
Hey John, works on Bing, MSN!
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
Hey John, works on Bing, MSN!
Thank J.
This is so perplexing and I thank GOD it is their problem, not mine for the FIRST time on this project I could pay for HELP.
 

All_In

Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
15,692
Location
San Diego, CA. USA
Aircraft
Piper Archer, Aviomania G1sb
Total Flight Time
Not sure over 10,000+ logged FW, 260+ ultralights, sailplane, hang-gliders
Ok, I'm signing off. You are stealing my gyro building time off to the airport. I love you guys but I love even building more.
 

skyguynca

Gold Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2004
Messages
1,391
Location
Acampo, CA
Aircraft
depends on what I have sold recently
Total Flight Time
5000+
My password does not work on the new site
 

Vance

Gyroplane CFI
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
16,763
Location
Nipomo,California
Aircraft
Givens Predator
Total Flight Time
2400+ in rotorcraft
The website came up for me. I did not log in because I can't remember my password.
 
Top