UK Raf fatality report.

C. Beaty said:
Yes, Raghu, I do have a copy of Vol Moteur, June '98 that I located a few days ago. Unfortunately, it was at the bottom of a stack of stuff that got wet when my barn flooded. I'm going to attempt steaming it open and redrying. If successful, I'll scan it and send you a copy.

Thanks Chuck, I appreciate your efforts!

Screw-In

Doug, I had a similar experiance. After flying my gyro for a while and not having flown a FW in about 8 mo. I called my CFI so that I could get current on my FW ticket.

We flew a 172 and the controls felt extremely heavy compared to what I was used to in my gyro. I bounced 2 landings and my CFI asked why I was flying like a girl. After that I had a nice day from there.

I Didn't have any problems going back to the gyro though, but I imagine if I had been flying fixed wing straight for 8 months with no gyro time, First gyro flight might be a little dicey.

Udi, Interesting statistic, I noticed there have been no ATP ratings as of yet.

Screw-Out

I would guess that what Mr. O'Connor was relating was from his experience with his gyro which, for all I know, may not have been the most stable. He was asked about his experience which he related and while it may have sounded like a blanket statement, I don't believe that was the case