Twinstarr?

-willy-

complete novice
Aircraft
A R Drone (RC)
Total Flight Time
zero, does flying as a passenger count?
I saw some Twinstarr gyros on the Facebook page of the Mentone gathering. I am curious about them and would like more info if possible.

The tail looks fascinating. Can anyone give me details of this bird?
I am attaching a pic from a Google search so the rest of you know what I am talking about. I can only find sideviews.

2836382228_a8cf314fc0_b.jpg

Twinstarr Gyroplanes:

Produced by Farrington Aircraft (KY USA) as a kit.

Almost thirty kits were rumored to have been produced, over twenty flying machines have been documented.

Two have been damaged beyond repair, both suffered unskilled landings (unlicensed pilot/low time pilot), no serious injuries.

Although no formal information has been found, the generally accepted motivation for the design was to build a low-thrust line (near CLT) trainer that was durable and highly reliable.

It is also believed that the Twinstarr was in the FAA certification process but this was not completed due to the death of the company owner (not Twinstarr related).

Frame: Chrome-molly steel with rigid mast
Blades: Stock 30ft RAF (many have been upgraded to Sport Copter 30's)
Engine: Lycoming 0-320 150 or 160hp
Fuel: 15 gallons
Range: Approximately 1 hour 45 minutes at cruse with reserve.
Speed: 30-100mph 103mph VNE (RAF BLADES)

Note: Some people that do not understand thrust-line calculation assume that the Twinstarr is low-thrust-line because it does not have the 'step ladder' look of many CLT machines. This is not correct.

Unlike Rotax engines that have a redrive that raises the thrust-line above the engine, the Lycoming engines have no redive, they use a direct dive system which makes the ENGINE exact CLT.

Airframe Design:

Most designers tried to solve the high thrust-line problem by raising up the pilot and passengers and dropping the keel.