student test pilot

khallups

Aircraft
Luscumb, champ
Total Flight Time
I have about 50hrs. in a Luscumb, and 40 hrs in a Champ, all tail draggers.
I thought the title would get someones attention.
Yes, I am a student pilot and trying to do my own test flights with a VW powered KB-2.

I was out on the runway practiceing balanceing on the mains. While balanced on the mains, I would push the stick left and the machine would yaw right. Pushing the stick right, makes the machine yaw left. It would only yaw slightly but to the opposite way the stick is pushed. I believe these are 20' Bensen blades blades with 2' bensen hub bar.

Yes, the blades are installed correct with the flat side down.
When the stick is pushed left the blades tilt left, when pushed right the blades tilt right.

I am not sure why it yaws opposite. Any thoughts?

Attachments

• DSC_0043.jpg
    DSC_0043.jpg
    145.1 KB · Views: 8
I am getting training from Desmon.

I was hopeing to get some kind of explanation about why this happens.
thanks for the Encouragement Steve.

Ready to Solo your gyroplane?

Ready to Solo your gyroplane?

Hello Kelly,

All the gyroplanes I have flown control yaw with the rudder, not the cyclic.

In my experience a gyroplane does not have adverse yaw like your Luscomb or Champ.

I saw where you were going to get lessons from Desmon; how is that going?

Does Desmon feel you are ready to solo?

Many people have lifted off when their intention was to balance on the mains and discovered they were not ready to solo. It is often a very expensive mistake and can prove fatal.

I wish you success on your gyroplane adventure.

Thank you, Vance

thanks Vance for your reply.

I currently have 8 hrs with Desmon and plan on getting more. Desmon says I am ready to fly the runway at this time. He may feel that I am ready to make the pattern, but I want to take it slow and hopefully fly the runway for a while.