Starting a ROTAX 503

Jpipe

Aircraft
Vancraft Lightning
Total Flight Time
I am new to this whole expience.

I am finding it difficult to pull start my Rotax 503. When I get it started, I am tired out and not ready to enjoy the experince.

When it does start it runs very well.

I bought this Van Craft Lightning with a Rotax 503 second hand and was told it had very few hours on the engine and just had not been used. So I set out to clean the fuel filter, single Bing carb (was in good shape ) and replace the air filter. I also fitted a new set of plugs.

I need some sort of starting proceedure to follow.

Any help would be helpful.

Thanks

John P

i3 roberto

Jpipe it'single carb 503??...mmm weird ,,maybe instal a pirmer pump can help you , chec niddle ??,can be stuck , clean carb ,check spark calibration new gasoline ??...and..good look je je

BEN S

Aircraft
Sportcopter Vortex "light"
Total Flight Time
200+
jpipe........

jpipe........

install a fuel primer bulb if you don't have one. shoot a spurt of gas into the floats (just a little, like a half of a pump) I can hear it when it changes from air to gas. Start the engine and keep your hand on the fuel primer pump. As it starts to have the RPM decrease give it a tiny shot more of gas to keep the engine running. as soon as it warms up just a bit it will run fine.
Have been using this technique for over 3 years and still enjoy 1 pull starts.
Hope this helps.
Ben S

bryancobb

Aircraft
Owned Brantly B-2b/Fly Kitfox III/Mini-500b
Total Flight Time
My old single ignition/dual carb 503 started every time on the 1st or 2nd pull. I HAD to pump the primer knob 3 times AFTER fuel became visible in the lines.
Then when it started, it would die in a couple of seconds If I didn't continue to slowly pump the primer knob in and out for 30-45 seconds of warmup.

Doug Riley

Platinum Member