Shock absorbers / Dampers for light gyros

Brian Jackson

Platinum Member
Greetings All.

I've read through a few old threads about this topic and wanted to ask the knowledgeable folks here about a topic of which I've little practical knowledge beyond the general physics. I would like to incorporate a damper(s) with sufficient travel into the main gear vertical strut on a GyroBee, in lieu of the bungee setup. StarBee uses what I believe might be go-kart-like shocks (damper with spring coil) but their low-attached strut pivots in a way that appears to me to require, due to leverage, a stiffer shock than if the attachment point were higher up on the mast and the load more vertical.

I am in the process of selecting/purchasing an in-line damper and find myself with "consumer paralysis", which I often feel when browsing down the shampoo isle. I also see that Sport Copter use a small-ish damper with no visible coil on some of their ships, and Dominators that use coil shocks.

So my hope is for a bit of guidance from those whom have grappled with (and solved for) this problem. Many thanks in advance for replies.

Respectfully,
Brian Jackson

neutrax

rat now
No Title

Brian

On my much modified 1966 Bensen I used urethane donuts from sportcopter. They act as a spring and a damper on rebound. As they get compressed they grab the rod going through them.

They have worked well for me. The top attachment is threaded for a 1/2" rod that goes through the donuts and slides in and out of a bushing inside the down tube and has a locknut on the end with a nylon washer and steel washer.

Attachments

scottessex

Sling-Wing Pilot
Air command used a small rubber bumper, at the top of the gear, I will have to find a picture, sno-bird used a rubber bumper inline like sport copter but less travel, and of course the Dominator has full suspension. Are you looking for just a damper or suspension?
I like suspension for take off on rough fields, it shortens the takeoff roll.