New tandem gyro

It looks real good Murray. Interesting design that I'd like to see closer. Did you stick build it or was it a kit, and whose design?

Hello Chuck, It is my own design but basicly I have been building them along the Dominator style for about twelve years now.The gyro in the photo is completly "stick" built.

Very nice! Wish I had one just like it so I could take my friends for a ride. Someday I hope to own a 2-place.

Very nice, Murray. How many have you built? Is that a 912 on the first one?

Not being familiar with Australia, are you very from the other Aussies who are members of this forum?

Nice machines! My only comment is I don't like how the blade strap is up against the windshield. The dominators have the pivot tube extending out from the front of the pod a foot or so, and the tube is built strong enough to use for moving the gyro around and to tie the blade strap to.

Chuck the first gyro is powered by a Subaru EJ-22 and the Second one appears to be powered with the 618 Rotax.

I agree with you Ron, about the blade strap and the Pitot Tube (not pivot tube).

Last edited:
Ya,ll are going to give Chuck E a heart flutter callin that Petcock tube a Pedot tube:D

How does the vertical CG location come out? A bit below the thrust line? Above? Right on?

It looks close but looks are sometimes deceiving.

Doug Riley said:
How does the vertical CG location come out? A bit below the thrust line? Above? Right on?
It looks close but looks are sometimes deceiving.
Doug, this is true, as you have pointed out with the GyroBee. And the one thing I was hoping for from you people on the ASTM Stability Standards sub-committee was a requirement that the vertical Cg be placarded and/or visibly and permanently identified on the LSA machines. Was this ever considered or would that have been 'perscriptive'?