My First Engine Out In My Soob

dragonflyerthom

Platinum Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
4,742
Location
Arkadelphia, AR
Aircraft
RAF 2000 GTX SE
Total Flight Time
183FW 132Gyro
It has been a few day since I have been able to fly(Oct 12). The morning was beautiful. Little to no wind, blue skys, and the time had just change back an hour. I took off then headed to toward the north. I flew to the airport at Arkadelphia. As I announced that I was going to go over mid field then I heard that there were 4 black hawk mil helis on approach. I decided to fly parallel to the runway and watch them land to a hover then take off to the Southwest. I decided to fly back to Gurdon at 1000 ft.

About 5 miles out from Gurdon everything went quiet. I quickly flipped up the aux fuel pump. The restart went great. The engine smoothed and I flew the last 5 miles with out further incidence.

After church I checked the main fuel pump and found where the ground had come loose. I fixed this and flew this afternoon. No further problem.

This loose ground can be attributed to checking all my connection when I do my walk around. So be careful and don't pull too hard.
 

Resasi

Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
7,831
Location
London/ Kilifi Kenya
Aircraft
Gyrs, RAF 2000/Mgni/Bnsn/Hrnet/Mrlin/Crckt/MT-03/Lyzlle AV18-A/Prdtor. Pax ArrowCopter
Total Flight Time
100+ gyro, 16,000+ other
Aaaaah, those hours and hours of uneventful flight, punctuated by those electrifying few seconds when one lives a lifetime in the time it took to flick a switch.

Nice conclusion Thom
 

Timchick

Tim Chick
Joined
Sep 15, 2004
Messages
10,890
Location
Panama City, Florida
Aircraft
Sport Copter Vortex, 582 Greyhead
Total Flight Time
~30
Thom,
Quick thinking. Way to go. Glad your emergency procedures were successful.
 

cgmg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
1,149
Location
El Paso, IL.
Aircraft
Empty hangar right now, have owned and flown Air Command & RAF
Total Flight Time
375
Thom,

Glad it was a non-event for you!

How much altitude did you lose during the restart?
 

CLS447

Platinum Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
6,320
Location
Reading, PA
Aircraft
Air Command 503 & Air Command SxS /EJ2.5
Total Flight Time
Aprox 400 gyro
Steve Osborn has the auto pump switchover system. You would have never been the wiser.

Is that good or bad ?

Oh ......That was way too easy, Thom !
 

dragonflyerthom

Platinum Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
4,742
Location
Arkadelphia, AR
Aircraft
RAF 2000 GTX SE
Total Flight Time
183FW 132Gyro
Thanks Guys.

It was a fill my pants event almost. I had thought about having a system that is automatic but then I wouldn't have known there was a problem. I fly with one pump for just this reason.

One thing that surprised me was the amount of drag from the stopped engine. I have practiced engine outs with between 2000-2500 RPM on the tach. It wasn't quite the same. I had to get off the rudder immediately. Once again the nose dropped so fast I was pulling back on the cyclic with my right hand and starting with my left. I lost about 100 feet before it restarted then another 100 as I brought the engine back to cruise rpm.

I definitely know what "When it gets quite " means. Business picks up for sure. Thanks to Ron Menzie for all that training. The brain goes a 100 but the training kicks in.

John S

I was scared for a minute also.
 

StanFoster

Active Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
16,972
Location
Paxton, Il
Aircraft
Helicycle N360SF
Total Flight Time
1250
Way to go Thom. Nothing like an actual test...and you passed!:yo:


Ever since I inadvertantly shut my fuel pump off at 100 ft.....I came up with that automatic aux. pump switchover system that turns on the aux pump as soon as the fuel pressure drops. Even my quick dying fuel injection on the 2.5 would light back up if the main fuel pump were shut off. Plus...I had an override switch should the pilot want both pumps on for take off or landing...or any other time. It sure was a nice piece of mind knowing there was an electronic hand ready to turn on the aux pump without thinking.


Stan
 

TJMay

Gold Supporter
Joined
Jun 12, 2006
Messages
485
Location
Santa Rosa Beach, FL
Aircraft
RAF 2000 GTX SE and Air Command Elite
Total Flight Time
175
Way to go, Thom, Glad you had enough altitude to try a re-start.

My engine out was not fuel puimp related but I'd be interested in the auto switch-over system. Could you point me to the thread or post something about it here?

Tommy
 

Mike Schallmann

Mad Man MIke
Joined
Dec 8, 2004
Messages
1,239
Location
Buckeye AZ
Aircraft
Custom single seat gyro and 1939 Aeronca Chief.
Total Flight Time
950 (400 FW & 550 in Gyros)
I also have two pumps on my Soob --but I fly with both of them on -- originally mine had an "armstrong" starter so a restart wasnt in the cards.

I have a procedure to check the pumps --I start the engine on one pump and let it warm up --I switch to the second pump for the taxi out and then put both pumps on for the flight --this way I know if the pumps are working.
 

dragonflyerthom

Platinum Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
4,742
Location
Arkadelphia, AR
Aircraft
RAF 2000 GTX SE
Total Flight Time
183FW 132Gyro
Way to go, Thom, Glad you had enough altitude to try a re-start.

My engine out was not fuel puimp related but I'd be interested in the auto switch-over system. Could you point me to the thread or post something about it here?

Tommy

Hi Tommy

Stan Foster is the one to get this back up auto system.
 

CLS447

Platinum Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
6,320
Location
Reading, PA
Aircraft
Air Command 503 & Air Command SxS /EJ2.5
Total Flight Time
Aprox 400 gyro
Do you guys all run fuel pressure guages?

Which brand & how much$ ??
 

Harry_S.

Gold Supporter
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
5,649
Location
Ocala, Florida
Aircraft
RAF2000
Total Flight Time
2000+ hrs.
Your Thread Title Scared Me!!!

Your Thread Title Scared Me!!!

Good on ya Thom. Cool reaction. ;)

I have dual pumps, each has its own breaker switch. Both on for TO and switch one off after climbout.

Before start I check the Batt. meter and Fuel pressure. I start up on one pump and run thru my after start instr. check. Pump #1 OFF and see pressure drop...Pump #2 ON and see pressure up...#2 OFF, press. drop...#1 ON, press. up...both pumps ON...ready to taxi.

Again Thom; Good on ya.


Cheers :)
 

cgmg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
1,149
Location
El Paso, IL.
Aircraft
Empty hangar right now, have owned and flown Air Command & RAF
Total Flight Time
375
Thom,

I have the auto switch system Stan used, but can't find my wiring diagram. One thing you do want to do is hook up an indicator light for the spare pump. That way you'll know if the aux pump has kicked in. When I do my fuel pump check prior to takeoff, the green light comes on when I switch to aux.
 

dragonflyerthom

Platinum Member
Joined
May 24, 2006
Messages
4,742
Location
Arkadelphia, AR
Aircraft
RAF 2000 GTX SE
Total Flight Time
183FW 132Gyro
Hey I have had some time to sleep on this. It would be nice to have some kind of back up in the future. This was it would be a non event. I'm sure there are others here that would love for you to find and post it. Thanks for this Mark. By the way does it work on a low fuel pressure system. I think mine is 4 or 5 lbs.

How have you and Mark been? Your Guys been flying much?

Thanks Harry S. When I think that I almost didn't get that second fuel pump. Whew!!!!!
 

Steve Osborne

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
402
Location
Maryland
Aircraft
RAF2000 GTX SE FI 2.5L
Good save Thom.

In the photo above the fuel pressure gauge is the pump control. There are 3 lights and a toggle switch.

The left green light comes on with keyed power letting you know the primary pump is on. The amber light in the center comes on when the back up pump is armed with the toggle switch. If the primary pump fails for any reason the back up pump will automatically turn on and the right side green lights indicating there is a problem. I test the system by pulling pump 1 circuit breaker and for emergency landing I pull pump 1 & 2 circuit breakers. This will work with low & high pressure systems all you need is a different pressure switch.
 

Attachments

Last edited:

cgmg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
Messages
1,149
Location
El Paso, IL.
Aircraft
Empty hangar right now, have owned and flown Air Command & RAF
Total Flight Time
375
Thom,

Stan's setup was for fuel-injection, but like Steve says, you'll need a different pressure switch for low pressure.

I'll keep looking for the diagram. I'm going to be at the hangar today, and if I can trace the wiring, I'll do that. But no promises, most of what I need to see is buried in wiring looms. Bugging your buddy Stan for the diagram would be the best bet.

Mark Knight has been flying about every other day, he said. Of course, that's pretty easy when your hangar is 50 feet from your house, and you work third shift!

I'm flying as often as I can, which is about once every 7-10 days now. Early fall is tough for me, I spend a good chunk of time almost daily blowing leaves off my yard. Living in the woods is a great life, except for about a month this time of year!

I actually flew twice last Saturday, once for my BFR, and once for pleasure again. That's the first double-bagger since I sold my Air Command!
 

mgoroff

Member
Joined
May 23, 2006
Messages
147
Location
Livermore, CA
Aircraft
1976 Cessna T310R, SparrowHawk, Bell 47-G2
Total Flight Time
2000
Attached is a page of the schematics I drew up for my SH. I changed quite a bit of the wiring from the kit and so wanted to document the way I built it.

At the bottom left is the automatic fuel pump backup circuit. The fuel pressure switch I used is a 15psi normally closed Hobbs brand switch, but it comes in many different pressures. The relay is a good quality unit easily obtained online. The second pump will kick in when the fuel pressure falls below the switch pressure and the relay will latch and keep the pump on until you turn off the switch breaker. The low pressure indicator light will remain on as long as the backup pump is on. The system works very well.

If you have a carburated engine, you can likely just run both pumps at the same time for redundancy. In my FI engine, running both pumps at the same time exceeds the capacity of the fuel return line and the engine will run too rich.

Marc
 

Attachments

Top