Kubota Diesel a long term project.

FRANK'S

Super Supporter
Aircraft
1975 Bensen B8-M A65 Continental
Total Flight Time
I tell you this like it is. I'm a auto mechanic heavy equipment mechanic race car builder and race engine builder.

I have a Kubota diesel engine a D902 with 100 hours got it from my local Kubota Dealership.

25HP @ 3600RPM
130lbs
3 cylinder.

my first mods will bring power to 37HP @ 3200RPM
bigger injectors, pump work,Pump timing advance,
porting and deburing, 5MM over piston and rings.
ARP head studs and con-rod

this is not enough so more mods
some weight reduction I will even grind the block
to take all the OZ off that I can.

install Turbo with inter-cooler and run at 12psi to 15psi
Diesel engine loves air but there is a limit.
this will give me 55hp @ 3200rpm and 60HP @ 3600
now the torque 130lbs torque with 1.5 or 1.6 redrive.

this will be tested in a snow mobile for brake in and reliability.
this will be tested for many hours to make sure it's solid and reliable.
after I will install it in a small Gyrocopter

this is a low compression engine 18 to 1 is low for a diesel so turbo is not a problem.
Modded tractor pullers Run over 100HP in this block and don't have problems.

don't forget this is a long term project. Probably 2 years.

so you guys think it will fly good like a Rotax 582 or be useless.

post feed back good or bad all info is useful.

Attachments

• d902.JPG
    d902.JPG
    18.5 KB · Views: 1
  • D902 hp.JPG
    D902 hp.JPG
    38.1 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:
this will be tested in a snow mobile for brake in and reliability.
this will be tested for many hours to make sure it's solid and reliable.
after I will install it in a small Gyrocopter