Jump take-off vs. rolling take-off

PTKay

Gold Member
Aircraft
Socata Rallye
Now, after several hours of gyro training
I have my doubts, what is safer: jump or rolling take-off.

As a FW pilot I find the rolling gyrocopter take-off a difficult
and dangerous procedure compared to FW.

In the FW you just watch V1, take off, level to Vx and up you go.

Not so in a gyroplane:
you have to take care of many actions (prerotator off, throttle up,
release brakes, back and then level stick) and parameters
(PRPM, RRPM, speed) at the same time, if you miss just one,
you can get blade flap, torque roll-over, mast bumping etc.

Some stated a gyroplane jump take-off is a stunt, but for me
a gyroplane rolling take-off is a stunt.

By a jump take off, you sit firm and still on the ground,
you have to take care only of the RRPM, holding your brakes,
until you are up to 150% flight, no risk of slow rotor, blade flap etc.

Then you switch rotor to flight pitch and up you go, full throttle,
no worries of taking off to early with slow rotor, keeping nose down,
avoiding ground hops etc. (You don't even bother releasing brakes.)

You just gain speed, keep the machine level and away you go.

Just my $0.02 worth... ;)

NoWingsAttached

Unobtainium Member
Aircraft
Air Command Tandem w/ Arrow 100hp; GyroBee w/ Hirth 65hp; Air Command Tandem w/ Yamaha 150hp
Total Flight Time
>350
I dont' think you need to worry about torque rollover. But I see your point. Definitely, if I had the money to buy a jumper or the time to build one I would. It's a matter of comprimises in this world.

brett s

Gold Supporter
Aircraft
none currently
Total Flight Time
1300 helicopter
Depending on the machine & how it's implemented, jump takeoff can introduce a whole bunch of other things that can bite. Just a different set of compromises, that's all.

PTKay

Gold Member
Aircraft
Socata Rallye