Hang Balance VS. Flight Test Pilot of different weight

Brian Jackson

Platinum Member
Aircraft
GyroBee Variant - Under Construction
I didn't want to go off topic asking this in another thread. When my build is eventually finished I will be hiring an experienced gyro pilot to test fly my ship. I'm a small guy that might squeak in at 145 over the winter months. If a test pilot were, say, 185 lbs, how would he adjust to a ship with cheek plates designed to balance a lighter pilot? And on that train of thought, how easy is it for people of different weights to fly each other's gyros? Are there typically weight "ranges" that are deemed safe before new cheek plates need be installed? The designer in me is almost envisioning an adjustable-position rotorhead but that's an area I have no practical knowledge of. Thanks.

Brian

This is a challenge in The Predator as I change from the front to the back. I am near the maximum front seat weight and I have had clients in the front seat from a hundred thirty five pounds to two hundred fifty pounds. Full fuel also moves the CG slightly forward.

All aircraft should have a forward and aft CG limit and on an experimental that will need to be determined in phase one flight testing.

If I was hanging; on most gyroplanes I would probably use a maximum of eleven degrees nose down to three degrees nose down.

I have not flown a gyroplane outside of the maximum nose down angle so I cannot describe what trouble looks like.

I did fly a gyroplane that hung at zero and balancing on the mains was problematic. I don’t know if this was because of the locating of the mains or the rotor head.

I would suggest that if there is a significant weight difference between you and the test pilot that a second set of cheek plates be made for the test flying phase.