Foam preparation and filler for composite layups - need help

Brian Jackson

Platinum Member
Aircraft
GyroBee Variant - Under Construction
Greetings all.

Been out of the loop for a little while but making progress on the gyro. I am preparing for (finally!) the layup work and foam sculpting of the carbon fiber items. I am a newbie at composite construction so am asking the experts here. The first question is: What kind of filler material is generally used on the foam itself that is sandable in order to achieve a smooth surface suitable for wet layup? It will be vacuum bagged. One of the items is compound curved so the hotwire will not be used, and must be shaped by hand, which will leave some irregularities that I am hoping to use this filler product I'm asking about and sand to final smooth shape. Any suggestions or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Brian

Hi Brian

Off the top of my head... Warning...

1. Foam is hard to sand smooth.
  2. We use DOW High load 60, which can be sanded smooth enough for primer. IIRC it's construction insulation. Sandwich them together with glue to the rough shape and apply pressure on the stack as they come in sheets. I try and look for the longest curve on the design and lay the stack either horizontal or vertical so there are fewer joints to fill in with sandable primer.
  3. You hotwire cut to rough shape as close as you dare, with your skill level, and then use a file.
  4. We do not try and get putty to stick on the foam. Make a major mistake and we cut that part out.
  5. After file sand with 40, 80, 120 grit. Sand as smooth as you can with 120 grit.
  6. Next, go to the paint store and ask for a sandable high filler primer. Can't recall the name. So take a piece of Dow High load 60 and ask them to test it or if they know what will not melt it. That's what I had to do last time.