Can't Shake the Bug!

rdt7

I am a fixed wing pilot who owns a Twin Cessna. I've got an ATP and 7,000 hours of small airplane fixed wing flight time (working against me with gyros, I know!). I flew with Barry a couple of years ago in Wadesboro, NC (picture attached - Hi Barry) and just took another ride at OSH this year in a Cavalon. I just can't shake the bug. I fell in love with Bensons as a kid and, man, have gyrocopters come a long way!

One of the things that appeals to me is that I might actually be able to build a gyro. I've always wanted to build my own airplane. In my twenties, I built the wings to a Steen Skybolt biplane but it took me two years and I realized I could either fly or build but not both. I chose to fly. The short building time for a gyro could eliminate that problem. And of course, flying low and slow in a gyro is awesome.

I've decide that the next step is to just get my gyroplane rating. Somewhere during that process I think it will become clear to me whether building and owning a gyro is right for me. I am looking for advice on instruction. I am not looking for "quick" or "cheap" but "good". Any advice or recommendations would be appreciated!

Attachments

ToddP

Administrator
Staff member
Aircraft
Dominator Gyro / RV9
Total Flight Time
500 Hours
Hi Bob,

Welcome t the forum. You've found the right place to keep the bug going. Lots of great information and people here to help you along.

Resasi

Gold Supporter
Aircraft
Gyrs, RAF 2000/Mgni/Bnsn/Hrnet/Mrlin/Crckt/MT-03/Lyzlle AV18-A/Prdtor. Pax ArrowCopter
Total Flight Time
100+ gyro, 16,000+ other
Getting an instructor near you is a start. Contact the PRA for info.

Then start deciding if its a single seat or two seater you want.

Building your own and flying locally low slow and 'arial dirtbiking’ in a quick build, high quality kit, that is safe stable and agile I can personally recommend this kit. The GT-VX1 http://gyrotechnic.com