Buckeye 582 overheating issue

bobisnext

Hi to all:

I have a Buckeye 582 (1999) that I've been flying for the last 7 years. It has about a 150 hours since I purchased it and it was torn down and at least partially rebuilt at that time . Since I live in Ohio I only fly an average of 15 or so flights per year at about a hour or so for each flight.I have had no issues with it Until a week or so ago when it over heated during warm up. The temperature usually goes up to about a 150 or so and then back down when the 140゚ thermostat opens. However this time it continued to climb to up to 190. I checked a radiator which I have never had any coolant loss at all and it was dry. I put coolant in and temperature returned to normal range 135. However there are no external leaks and I did not notice any steam or anything else coming out of the exhaust. Therefore it appears there's a internal leak somewhere and I plan on replacing the cylinder head rubber rings and cyl O rings to determine if that solves the problem.

Is this unusual for a engine that has a 150 hours maximum on it? Are there any other issues other than head rubber gaskets that would cause coolant to flow through the engine? The engine runs good otherwise. Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated thanks Bob

I think you MAY need to go to your Rotax manual and re-familiarize yourself with 582 spec's. Your temps you are quoting seem weird.
I looked. The bluehead 582UL99 has a normal range of 150 DegF to 175 DegF.

Hi bryan: