BarnFind Bensen

Joined up here to try do learn more about Bensen Gyros. I found one that's been sitting in a barn for 10 years. The owner passed away and his widow would like to get rid of it. I did some searching to see what a fair price might be, but I'm thinking I'd be better off avoiding it all together.

It's got the Mac 4318 engine, which seems to be the least reliable option for a powerplant. That appears to be the biggest downfall. Everything else looks complete and in good shape. It's got a pre-rotor and hand operated rotor brake. Hydraulic disc brakes on the main gear, seat tank (not sure on size) and there is no N-Number, so I'm assuming the previous owner flew it as an ultralight.

I am a fixed wing private pilot, but have no experience with full scale gyros. I had a hard enough time finding a tail dragger instructor - no idea if there are any gyro instructors in central WI. I'd obviously need some seat time in a two place gyro to even consider flying this one.

So, I guess my questions are - is there anything specific I need to look at that would be a deal breaker to buy this? I see a lot of people are in the market for blades on this site - is that something that need to be replaced periodically? Would sitting in a barn for 10 years mean the blades are untrustworthy?

Would I be better off parting it out - rather than going through it and making it airworthy?

Any idea on what a good price would be?

Am I better off to just walk away?!

I'll see if I can post pics up shortly.

Chris Burgess

GYRO-CFI
Aircraft
Many makes and models, prefer open frame, Sold my SnoBird Tandem
Total Flight Time
3400+
Pictures would help a lot. Metal factory rotors? 10 years inside a climate-controlled space not bad, but salt water near by out in the open is a definite deal breaker in my book.