Aviomania - Viking First Impressions

Joe Pires

star hoarder
Aircraft
Aviomania GS2.
Total Flight Time
600 ish solo gyro and 190 ish two place
I have about 9 flying hours now in my new Aviomania GS2 powered by the 130 HP Honda engine.

Here are a few first impressions.

General flight characteristics. It is rock solid. There is nothing I have experienced to this point call attention to the aerodynamics. Nothing odd, nothing dicey feeling it just flies. I have limited experience in other gyros. I trained in a two place Dominator, I have flown my own single place Dominator and I have flown the Ranger with Greg for my Biannual. I really don't see much difference between it and the two place Dominator, in flight. Also my sight picture in it is very close to my single place Dominator, so my landings were decent right out of the box. I am moving a lot more mass so my stick pressure and responsiveness is not like the single place, but neither is it as twitchy in wind.

Power and Smoothness - I could not be happier than I am so far with the Honda engine. It starts instantly runs smoothly, is crazy quiet on the ground. Alone with a full tank of gas my climb rates were about 1000FPM. I saw 960 but I quit climbing before it did. I do have noticeable torque roll at take off.
I am cruising at about 4300-4400 rpm. I have just recently increased my pitch and seem to be topping out about 5400 rpm. I am spinning a 72 inch Warp Drive.

I am averaging 4.47 GPH. I have a fuel barrel with a metered electric pump so I am able to get pretty good repeatability on my refills.

Rotor/Rotorhead - I have 28 foot Dragon Wings with a RFD Slider head. I have a fair amount of stick shake. We have not begun to chase the solutions to that. The thread on the forum came at a very good time for me and maybe I will try to entice Mike G to visit.