A/W 95 build

FloripTW

I'm just getting started on this build and this is my first step into aircraft building. Was happy to find this forum.

As stated, I'm in the early stages of the build. I have a Rotax 503, prints from vortechonline, a stack of aluminum, and a pair of rotors from a HUP-2 Retriever. I don't plan to use the rotors to make the helicopter fly but I may use them as a reference for rotor building. I plan to take the next few evenings to create the CAD files based off the prints. Once these are good to go, I have a CNC mill and lathe that will cut the parts.

My end goal is to build a helicopter that I can hover. I'd like to use the build as a way to understand the full structure and components of a small helicopter. I don't know how well suited the A/W 95 is for serious flying. All videos I've seen have shown the aircraft hovering or flying less than 15' above the ground.

I'll add pictures as the build moves along.

Erik

Welcome to the Forum, Erik.

We love build threads here and from personal experience with mine, a lot of knowledgeable and talented members will chime in to help steer you in the right direction. Listen to them. And post lots of pics.

Glad to see you are generating CAD files before the build. With mine it has helped tremendously in understanding the design where there has been deceptive simplicity. Glad you found the RWF and I look forward to seeing your progress.

Regards,

Brian Jackson

Thank you, Brian,

I'm looking forward to hearing from the other members. Piloting and aircraft design are areas that I have very little knowledge. After spending a few days going through the forums, seemed like a good place to join.

One of the things I'm thinking about is the rotor construction. My first thought is this: cut out a number of ribs and run stringers/spar down the length of the rotor. If I make the ribs thick enough I can wrap the assembly in .032" aluminum and drill/rivet into the rib. Any input on this build technique?