1971 Scorpion Too 133 Builder #1729

kfegley

I have acquired a 1971 Scorpion Too w/a 133 engine from my late cousin Nelson who was an Engineer by trade. He passed away in July of this year. According to the Hobbs gauge it only has 3/10 hours of flight time and was never given a FAA cert because he was using fiberglass blades at the time (this is what I was told by his sister and brother. Now his brother told me the gauge was not hooked up until he actually started to fly it so he said including all testing and ground run ups it has about 80 hours on the engine. Information on the internet about this type of helicopter is spotty at best and I plan on doing what ever it takes to fly it again. He had taken the head off and tail off in anticipation of donating it to a missionary group in africa but they never took possession of it and now I own it. Here are some pictures. I look forward to making some new friends as I take this journey to getting this flying again

Attachments

Last edited:

Boots

If it was me I would talk to Homer Bell . http://www.kitcopterconsult.com
Your ship looks well kept . You may find that there was many upgrades after that kit was sold and built. I actually like the look of the older ships over the new ones .
Welcome to the forum

FRANK'S

Super Supporter
Looks very clean. Thanks for rebuilding it.
don't forget the [ it's alive][ after the rebuild first start.]

animal

Platinum Member
OK, it looks like a nice machine, now for the reality of Scorpions.

#1 unless you are very light weight, the RW-133 engine is very under powered.

If you really want to make this machine fly, look for one of the Bigger engines RW-152 or RW-162.
you can sometimes pick up one of the RW-162 carb. engines fairly cheap, but keep in mind at 500 h.r. the heads have to be redone. I learned this the hard way.