Annual Inspection of Gyroplanes

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Annual Inspection of Gyroplanes

I'm new to the sport of flying gyroplanes in the Los Angeles area and I'm looking for someone to perform an annual maintenance inspection on my Sport Copter Vortex. I did not build the gyroplane myself; so, my understanding is that I need an Airframe and Power mechanic with an Inspection Authorization to perform this work.

Any recommendations and ballpark costs?

In my opinion they don't need inspection authority Jim; they just need to be an airframe and power plant mechanic.

I have seen a wind range of prices and a wide range of work.

In my opinion appendix D of part 43 spells out the scope and detail of an annual condition inspection even for an experimental aircraft.

I seldom get out for less than $1,000 for a condition inspection on The Predator and it was typically $1,500 on the Cavalon.

I have seen as low as $400.
    Regards, Vance Breese Gyroplane CFI http://www.breeseaircraft.com/

Comment

Jim ...... one of the cool aspects of the ROTR event is that they have a willing resource (Jim Gillespie...ifIRC) who does reasonable & thorough YEARLY CONDITION INSPECTIONS ...as they are called for experimentals ! ...at the event! ... of course this is no help to you this year .... as that event is long gone!

If the original builder of your gyro is willing or able ... to do the inspection ... otherwise some qualify A&P with familiarity of gyro systems is the option!

Hope to see you at ElMirage...????
      Chris T.
      3Rs - Rotors rock & rule!

"Blessed are the flexible for they shall not be bent out of shape." Buck B.

Time flies if you can but only the slowest.

PRA# 4212
      EAA# 1126845
      AOPA#08888697

Comment

Thanks for your prompt and informative response, Vance!