Meanwhile in the UK

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Meanwhile in the UK

I moved back to the UK three years ago, I still keep up with the Gyro scene but it is very muted here as we do not have the same freedoms as the USA. What we do have though is a CAA commercially approved Gyrocopter in the guise of the Cavalon Pro, a major achievement given the intransigence of the CAA. That said however if you actually want information about the Cavalon or any of its siblings in the UK then good luck to you as the agent has a completely unusable website, there is no excuse for that in this day and age, I am a web developer and it totally amazes me how an industry that depends of technical development is so backwards when it comes to technology. The flight training over here is equally badly served in that respect as well.

The only other thing of note seems to be the continued Pal-V saga, always a year away and even more expensive, if any of their investors really think they are likely to see a return then they are dreaming but I guess they are so financially committed now that they feel obligated to keep plowing funds in on the basis that there is a faint chance it will actually realise something one day. They do have a good website though.

So as far as two place enclosed machines we are left with the Magni M24 as the only accessible machine, a capable machine represented by an agent who seems at least mildly interested in selling them, while only licensed for Sport Aviation it is at least possible to get some info on the Magni range in the UK which perhaps explains their popularity.

One of these days I may even find time to get licensed myself. I hope everyone is keeping well here.

Muted - did you attend Old Warden last Friday - BRA fly in - 47 gyros flew in, a UK personal best.