Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

ADS-B are You Ready?? Nov 1, 2018

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • ADS-B are You Ready?? Nov 1, 2018

    FAA Safety Team | Safer Skies Through Education

    "ADS-B are You Ready??"
    Topic: ADS-B for General Aviation
    On Thursday, November 1, 2018 at 18:30 Eastern Daylight Time (15:30 PDT, 16:30 MDT, 17:30 CDT, 12:30 HST, 14:30 AKDT, 15:30 Arizona, 22:30 GMT)

    Select Number:
    EA3985112

    Description:

    NextGen is coming! Are you ready? Do you know what to expect? At this meeting you will be introduced to some of the concepts of NextGen and the equipment that you will need before January 1, 2020. We will cover ADS-B System Components & Characteristics to include ground infrastructure as well as aircraft equipment. You will gain a new understanding of ADS-B Airspace. We will explain why ADS-B is better for the country and the NAS. Don't miss this informative briefing. Click the link below and register TODAY.

    To view further details and registration information for this webinar, click here.

    The sponsor for this seminar is: FAASafety Team

    The following credit(s) are available for the WINGS/AMT Programs:
    Basic Knowledge 3 - 1 Credit
    Resistance is futile…… You will be compiled!
    Cheers,
    John Rountree

    PRA- Director, Secretary
    PRA- Business Manager

    PRA31 - Vice President of S.D. Rotorcraft Club
    http://www.Pra31.org

    U.S. Agent for Aviomania Aircraft... the most stable gyroplane on the market today.
    See: Aviomania USA http://www.AviomaniaUSA.com

    OEM Dealer for MGL Avionics - glass cockpit EFIS for Experimental aircraft Ask about DISCOUNTS for PRA MEMBERS

  • #2
    John
    Your "click here" doesn't click!
    George

    Comment


    • #3
      Are those seminars recorded?

      Comment


      • #4
        Originally posted by georgio744 View Post
        John
        Your "click here" doesn't click!
        George
        https://www.faasafety.gov/SPANS/even...EventList.aspx

        Comment


        • #5
          And then there are those of us, whom do not fly into the controlled airspace environment and do not have a need for the installation of this equipment.
          My equipment list will continue to be, Alt, ASI, engine analyzer.
          And I will continue to fly around and to the airports that I visit, just the way I always have.
          Nothing changes for me.
          David McCutchen
          615-390-2228
          Bensen B7m, 90 hp Mac
          Dominator Tandem, 100 hp Hirth
          Kolb Mark III Classic, 80 hp Verner
          Certified - Advanced Master Beef Producer
          EAA Member #0511805
          PRA Member #28866
          PRA Chapter 16 Member
          Secretary & Treasure - PRA Chapter 16
          President / Sylvia - Yellow Creek Volunteer Fire Dept.
          Chairmen - Dickson County Veteran's Day Committee
          Volunteer - Dickson County Airport Aviation Day Committee
          2 busy 2 No!

          Comment


          • #6
            I'm donning my flame proof suite for jumping in here.
            1) You may want ADS-B if you fly in/through controlled airspace, live in the class b ring, or want other aircraft to see you.
            2) For your ASD-B to be legal, you will need a proper position source. I don't recall the technical spec, but a Garmin handheld does not cut it.
            3) You don't have a good install until you get a performance report indicating compliance. https://adsbperformance.faa.gov/PAPRRequest.aspx
            4) If you have a transponder capable of generating ADSB, you might want to check the 2020 GPS from GRT. It works with my Trig TT22
            5) If you have nothing for a transponder, I would suggest an integrated solution that includes the GPS source. There are now several. Some may be affordable.

            Comment


            • #7
              Chris, I have my gyro at the avionics shop as of this writing for ADS-B in/out. I live near San Antonio and do transit their airspace as well as Austin's often. The ADS-B "out" may be most useful, but I have felt that the "in" would be nice for longer cross countries.

              Comment


              • #8
                My avionics shop tells me that the UAvionix Skybeacon is back ordered for several weeks due to high demand. If users plan on getting one, they may want to consider getting on the list. Just a heads up. Ray

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by Rainman View Post
                  Chris, I have my gyro at the avionics shop as of this writing for ADS-B in/out. I live near San Antonio and do transit their airspace as well as Austin's often. The ADS-B "out" may be most useful, but I have felt that the "in" would be nice for longer cross countries.
                  ADS-B In is indeed very nice to have, both for weather, and especially for awareness of other aircraft in the area. I regularly spot other aircraft with "In" long before I can actually see them. It's usefulness is certainly not limited to long cross-countries. However, you'll want to have "Out" for "In" to be truly effective.

                  FYI, the latest (Jan/Feb) issue of FAA Safety Briefing is dedicated to ADS-B:
                  https://www.faa.gov/news/safety_briefing/?cid=TW112

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X