Looking for a new challange

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking for a new challange

Long time aviation nut. Bought my first project, an Aeronca, way back in '78. Also have had an interest in gyros for just about as long.

Why Hot Wings? It's a reference to Icarus to remind me that Experimental aviation has risks. I like building as much as flying. I'm a wanabe engineer that doesn't yet feel ready to take the PE exam. But that doesn't stop me from filling cells in Excel or making pretty pictures in CAD.

My newest challenge is a part 103 tractor gyro. To make it even harder I live at 5000 ft with lots of windy days. I may never get to the build stage, but I'm certainly going to try - if the math and CAD says I have a reasonable chance. To this end I've been reading a bunch of the old posts to refresh my memory regarding the physics of gyro flight. I'm going to have some questions..........

Welcome to the Rotary Wing Forum Leon.

Why an ultralight rather than an N numbered gyroplane?

Are you planning on getting training?

Why don't you want to use one of the existing designs?

I wish you success on your gyroplane adventure.
    Regards, Vance Breese Gyroplane CFI http://www.breeseaircraft.com/

Comment

Why an ultralight rather than an N numbered gyroplane?
      Tired of the bureaucratic FAA. I'll never again own a certified plane unless the spreadsheet says I'll make money with it. That includes LSA even though I helped craft the ASTM standards for fixed wings. Finding a DAR for fixed wings is hard enough. Finding one for a gyro!?

Are you planning on getting training?
      Planning? Not at this time. If'/when the time comes to actually fly ............. I'll most likely seek some. Glider add comes first.

Why don't you want to use one of the existing designs?
      I've have the Bensen and the various "bee" plans.