Rotary Wing Forum  

Go Back   Rotary Wing Forum > Kit Makers & Manufacturers > Tractor Designs

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-23-2004, 06:27 PM
Dennis

Default Pitbull

I am new to Gyro flying, only about five hours of training . I am about 95% of the way done with a Gyrobee and plan to use it to get some hours in once I am ready to solo.

I am starting to think about a second machine and kind of like the look of the Pitbull. Maybe this can help me get past the WI winter. Well, my question. Are there any flying Pitbulls in the WI, MN area that I could look at or others that I could get some input from?

Thanks

Last edited by DBerke; 09-23-2004 at 06:47 PM. Reason: Wrong name sorry
Old 09-23-2004, 08:18 PM
Platinum Member

The Pitbull sure looks nice, but I have yet to see a satisfied owner...

Udi
Old 09-23-2004, 09:24 PM

Hi Dennis,

I don't know much about those who have flown the PB. The video John VanVoorhees puts out is quite good. The machine looks quite maneuverable. Don't let rumor and inuendo decide for you. Give John a call. He's a super guy and has sold this machine all over the world. You'll find more of these machines left of the Rockies.

Construction is relatively simple - one long 2x3 keel ending with an engine mount and a 2x3 mast surrounded by the pod. Engines range from a 503 to a Subaru. A friend of mine near Tucson is building one with a BMW 1150R motorcycle with redrive (built in England). Nice 4 banger, good horses and apparently very popular in Europe with the sport plane crowd.

A fairly nice web site might give you a reasonable idea of the construction - a member of the Colorado Chapter 7 of the PRA. The address is:

http://www.milehighgyroplanes.com