Newbie from Minnesota...Hey all!

Minnesota_Mike

Hearty hello to all here from me in a small town in So. Minnesota!

Been an on and off fan of the forum for a while now (time allowing)...finaly signed up because I took the plunge and purchased a used "project" Gyro that is in need of serious TLC.
Self taught & solo-ed with my buddy 20+ years ago in his mint Benson B8M with the 72Hp Mac and the Wunderlich Prerotator.
All these years later I found a unit that was affordable and had what I want (now that I'm ready).

1zy8u9k.jpg

2eyf8ft.jpg

wlzjb5.jpg

zn4qvo.jpg

The airframe has been outdoors in South Carolina for about 5 years...all bearings will need replacement as well as hardware...concerned about some pitting on the Gimbal head below the "teeter" bolt on the side plates (not deep, but troubling to the touch).

I like the Subaru (got 1 in my car), the electric prerotator should work well, not crazy about the airframe, prop is a serviceable Warp drive.

I've searched the net and found a sweet hydralic main wheel kit.

While I'm in planning and prep stage, I'm currently preparing myself for training and testing by reading up and researching.

Well...nice to make the acquaintance of all of YOU here...I will be participating and supporting the forum.
I welcome ANY and ALL comments and suggestions from ALL OF YOU...anytime!
You can contact me directly here via PM.

(Thanks to all of you here...the combined knowledge here is invaluable).

UPDATE=12-18-08

Well...now I've gone off and purchased yet even more parts recently...3 more airframes (2 assembled) including Mac engines & juggs and MANY other parts, another Subaru EA-82 WITH re-drive, 4 sets of rotors (with only three hubs...go figure!)
I'm tearing into the first of the Subaru engines...assessing the condition and seeking rebuild kits a shop services...gonna hop one of them up a little!

Well...till next time.
I'll start a "projct" thread by then.