Life insurance for gyro pilots

Hi all, newbie here. Got the bug a few months back to build/buy a gyro, get trained, and get in the air. Been enjoying lurking here for last month or so. My wife is in favor- as long as my life insurance is paid up . :D Any advice on how to get term life (I'm 60 now) that won't be voided in the "unlikely event"? Thanks for everyone's wisdom, experience and contributions to this great site.

You can buy Life term insurance from the EAA that does not exclude experimental rotorcraft.. Seems like you can get 250K for about $400 year.

I recently went to work for a company which has one vice president who's a pilot. Guess what? The company's term life plan has no aviation exclusion! ;)

I now have insurance that will cover me if something goes awry in an experimental. AOPA and EAA have both had plans which included experimentals, but excluded rotorcraft. (I haven't shopped them lately.) Just one more way we're considered too small to fight for, I guess.

Interesting. My SBA loan requires term life for the loan period, 10 years, in the amount of the loan - right now insurance is for $225k. My monthly life insurance payment (60yrs old) is $235. I am looking for ways to reduce this.

The policy specifically excludes accidental death while flying experimental aircraft.

I checked my policies a couple weeks ago. I've had two for about 15 years and neither have Aviation Exclusions.

Yes, life insurance for rotorcraft is available, and for very reasonable rates!

Yes, life insurance for rotorcraft is available, and for very reasonable rates!

I posted a year ago the details here:

http://www.rotaryforum.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39146

Upon my renewal this fall, the rate went up a little over a dollar a month. So, last year if was around $43 monthly.