How to begin?

yellowbird

I'm 241 miles from the closest CFI-Gyro (according to the PRA). I'm interested in a Sport Pilot Rotorcraft rating (currently I have none whatsoever). I have no desire (currently) to fly a plane or helicopter...

Anyone have any suggestions on where/how I should proceed?

Jeff,

Welcome - I am also new to gyro flying - You have already made the first crucial step and that is to identify your closest instructor - I have to travel 7 hours to my instructor but its well worth the trip. This forum will also help you along the way - great bunch of people and sound advice. May I suggest that you make contact with the instructor and have a chat and arrange a dual flight (if you haven't already done so).

Cheers

Frankiej

Jeff,

Consider taking a community college or flight school course over the winter, one which is designed to prepare you for the full private rating. Most are two nights a week for ten weeks, or similar. Even though it will be oriented toward fixed-wing, and the instructors will make some generalizations you'll know are not true for rotorcraft, it will be $350 well spent.

Most of the course, including airspace, weather, airport operations, powerplants, human factors, are the same, whether you're flying a Gyrobee, a Cessna, or the Goodyear blimp. And, at your stage, it will help feel like you're moving forward toward your goal and maintain your motivation during an otherwise frustrating few months.

There's a few gyros up in the New Hampshire/Vermont area. Doug Riley is up that way. I think he's an instructor.

Try contacting Doug Riley. Look up his name in the forum members list and send him a personal message.

I did a little searching and found out that Doug Riley is "an ultralight gyro instructor (BFI) working outside of Burlington, VT." (390 miles from me RT)

I guess my best bet (as I want a SP rating) is still:

Jim Logan, CFI-Gyro, 5209 exemption
Trans America Rotorcraft, Ltd.