View Full Version : Possible e-bay fraud
Mike Hook
03-31-2004, 01:57 PM
I was watching the Magi on ebay that was by approved bid only and it was pulled off. Now I have received a email stating that the gyro is for sale for 3000. I will attach the email seems like a fraud and to e-bay too.
Message is not flagged. [ Flag for Follow Up ]
Date: Tue, 30 Mar 2004 12:44:59 -0600
From: CLARICE JACKSON <sales@web-market.us>
[ Add to Address Book | Block Address | Report as Spam ]
To: Coal17 <coal17@excite.com>
Subject: GYROCOPTER FROM EBAY FOR SALE
If you want you can have this gyrocopter directly for 3000 USD, shipping is included in this price .
The gyrocopter is in one shipping company in New York ready to be shipped.
This is a ready gyrocopter to fly, it is very easy to navigate and you will need no license to use it.
If you want to buy my gyrocopter please send me deposit from 1500 USD via money ordrer to:
country:Germany
city:Munich
zip:80336
address:Grasstr. 93
name:CLARICE JACKSON
Please when you have sent me the payment do not forget to include your exact address and full name so i can make the shipping correctly.
The shipping time for the US is 3 days.
Forward this email to eBay, the FBI and the Interpol. This guy should be arrested.
Udi-
GyroRon
03-31-2004, 03:36 PM
That is a fraud! no doubt about it.
gyrogreg
03-31-2004, 04:39 PM
This appears to be a scam. The picture and speciifcations posted on the original Ebay add were straight from my Magni website.
I also wrote the seller, and he sent the $3000 offer also - send a money order to a German address! I wrote back for more pictures to verify this was for real, and the person sent three pictures of a SPORT COPTER. Two of these pictures were of a 912 Sport Copter. The third picture was a bit shadowy, but it was a 582 Sport Copter. The third picture had N- Numbers on it - but they did not register on the FAA database. The icing on the cake is that the three Sport Copter pictures they sent were straight from the Sprot Copter website!
I talked with Jim Vanek, and he said he had built that 912 machine, but did not know what happened to it.
This is a scam, trying to get you to send money for something that they don't have. First it is a Magni, then it is a Sport Copter 912, then it is a Sport Copter 582! And they only want $3000, or a $1500 downpayment! But be sure to send them your shipping address.
I am trying to figure out how to respond back to this guy to have a lttile fun at his expense. If anyone knows how to report this to authorities, I suggest you do so. I'm thinking of impersonating an Interpol officer or something in writing him back. Actually, it may be a girl - Clarice Jackson!
Thanks, Greg Gremminger, Magni USA
gyrogreg
03-31-2004, 04:56 PM
I thought you might be interested in my email reply back to this Ebay scammer:
---------------------------------------------------------------
Clarice,
This is really tempting. Do you know that this gyro is worth at least $25,000? At least the first two pictures you emailed me were. If you could send me an actual picture of the REAL gyroplane you are trying to sell, I might still be interested.
But, be advised, you need to do a better job if this is a scam! The Ebay picture and specification sheet was of a Magni M-18 copied straight from my Magni USA website. That gyro would be worth $30,000! There are none of these aircraft in the U.S. - I'm the dealer! Two of the pictures you sent in the email were of a Sport Copter with a Rotax 912 engine - that gyro was built at the Sport Copter factory in Oregon - not a Magni M-18!!! That gyro is worth $28,000! The third email picture was of a Sport Copter with a Rotax 582 engine! - that gyro is perhaps worth about $20,000! The third picture showed registration numbers on the tail, but the first two pictures had no N-Numbers on it. These three pictures were of two different gyros. AND, those pictures are on the Sport Copter website.
If there is some confusion here and you have some explanation, please send me proof of what you are trying to sell - I'd love to get a $30,000 aircraft for $3000! Otherwise, you had better start covering your tracks because several people told me they are reporting this scam to the authorities and Ebay! I will hold off on reporting this scam in case you can get back to me with some logical explanation in the next 24 hours.
Thank you for your offer and wonderful ineptitude at scamming! - Greg
CLARICE JACKSON wrote:
here are some pictures of it so you can be sure that it is in perfect working order and it exist. I will wait your mail soon.
--- Greg & Steph Gremminger wrote:
Hello Clarice,
I am very interested in this aircraft. I will begin preparing to send
the $1500 USD immediately in the morning. But, before I can send this
money, I must have other verification of exactly what this aircraft is:
DO YOU HAVE A PICTURE YOU CAN EMAIL TO ME? Or some other proof that this aircraft exists and is in good condition. Perhaps you could send
me the Serial Number, or the Registration Number in Germany, or the name
of the Original Owner. I could very quickly confirm this aircraft with the factory in Italy.
I hope to hear from you immediately in the next day.
Thanks, Greg Gremminger
CLARICE JACKSON wrote:
If you want you can have this gyrocopter directly for 3000 USD, shipping is included in this price . The gyrocopter is in one shipping company in New
York ready to be shipped. This is a ready gyrocopter to fly, it is very easy
to navigate and you will need no license to use it. If you want to buy my gyrocopter please send me deposit from 1500 USD via money ordrer to:
country:Germany
city:Munich
zip:80336
address:Grasstr. 93
name:CLARICE JACKSON
Please when you have sent me the payment do not forget to include your
exact address and full name so i can make the shipping correctly.
The shipping time for the US is 3 days.
Mike Hook
04-01-2004, 02:17 AM
Keep after them Greg this is better than a soap opera.
Mike
Sonnyj
04-02-2004, 08:01 AM
Alll I know is,I I sent $114.00 too an indivual for some engine parts about 2 yr. ago and ant gottem yet.BURN ME ONCE SHAME ON YOU,BURN ME TWICE SHAM ON ME.I'll never try ebay again.
donshoebridge
04-02-2004, 08:42 AM
Well if this gyro is in New York, have her send the address and contact information of where this gyro is and have someone in that area take a look at it. But I have a feeling all you're going to get is more double talk.
I bet there are enough people here (on the forum) that if we all started to send this person e-mails to the affect that "...the check is in the mail...", she might just go away. Either that or her inbox will become so full that a "real customer" wouldn't be able to get through to her.
Don
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.