View Full Version : Magni M-18 Gyro - eBay
rehler
03-28-2004, 03:07 PM
There is a gyro on eBay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=63680&item=2470074 534#ebayphotohosting
A Magni M-18 gyro and the bid is just over $100!
Mike Hook
03-28-2004, 04:58 PM
I have seen that bid Ken but it is by approved bidders only. I have sent him a email with no responce. The seller has never sold on ebay before. Will see where this one goes.
Mike
Hognose
03-28-2004, 11:22 PM
Heh.
I was gonna post it here just now, and you guys are all over it.
However, it sure looks fishy to me. The guy keeps referring to it as a Helicopter. Never uses the word Magni. AND it's a private bid.
I am deeply suspicious of this posting as it has all the earmarks of several types of fraud for which eBay is rapidly gaining a rep.
1) price too good to be true.
2) Written in bad English. Most of these criminal gangs are
based in China or Russia. (Apologies to anyone who is
Russian, Chinese, or speaks crummy English, but is still
honest. Just stating facts here).
3) Seller appears ignorant of what he's selling. Helicopter?
4) Seller novice to eBay with no feedback.
Then, there is the question of, where is this gyro and whose is it? I just checked my address book and didn't have Gregg G's email address but I bet Gregg knows every damn Magni in North America, and will know this machine -- if it's real.
I wish eBay would include the IP from which an ad was posted so we can discount all the crap coming from the unregulated Third World. But the last thing eBay wants to do is stop the fraud, because the fraudsters have to pay up front to place their auctions for nonexistent merchandise. Then, they get the mark's deposit from PayPal, and take a powder. eBay listens sympathetically, and tells him: Xin Loi GI.
By the way, the initial deposit the fraudsters paid is usually paid with a stolen or identity-theft-sourced credit card. So eBay gets paid but the credit card company gets stiffed. Which becomes higher interest and fees for everyone that buys anything on credit.
cheers
-=K=-
Hognose
03-28-2004, 11:24 PM
Oh yeah, the reason they use private bid is that if the list of bidders is in the open, self-appointed consumer watchdogs warn the marks off. This annoys both the fraudsters and eBay -- for both of them, it's bad for business.
cheers
-=K=-
GyroRon
03-29-2004, 05:00 AM
Yes looks like a Scam to me.
SNelson
03-30-2004, 08:03 PM
:'( thanks for the warning, Ebay novice :P
rehler
03-31-2004, 09:12 AM
Anyone know what happened to the Magni M18 on eBay?
robertstodaro
03-31-2004, 09:15 AM
WATCH OUT FOR THIS SCAM !!!!!!!!
I complained to ebay about it.
it's been pulled
I just got an offer from germany to but it for $3000.00
I just have to send $1500.oo deposit to germany.
DONT FALL FOR THIS SCAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Heres the letter I got.
BELOW IS A SCAM--DON'T SEND THEM ANY MONEY.
If you want you can have this gyrocopter directly for 3000 USD, shipping is included in this price .
The gyrocopter is in one shipping company in New York ready to be shipped.
This is a ready gyrocopter to fly, it is very easy to navigate and you will need no license to use it.
If you want to buy my gyrocopter please send me deposit from 1500 USD via money ordrer to:
country:Germany
city:Munich
zip:80336
address:Grasstr. 93
name:CLARICE JACKSON
Please when you have sent me the payment do not forget to include your exact address and full name so i can make the shipping correctly.
The shipping time for the US is 3 days.
rehler
03-31-2004, 09:35 AM
Scott,
If you feel safer, send the $1500 to me - right here in Texas.
Ken
Madewooden
03-31-2004, 09:44 AM
Just received an e-mail asking if I was interested in a direct sale for $6000.
Must be overseas, because it said $6000 US
Tim
Caribean_gyro
03-31-2004, 01:22 PM
I also got an email of send me 1500 to germany? the email state lakeland? Bad scam I wont bid on it
Chuck P :(
automan1223
03-31-2004, 06:13 PM
Nigerian check scam.
I had a similiar thing happen to me when I was selling a rotax years back. I was supposed to take a check to pay for it, from an "associate" here in the states, and send the guy the balance, 10 times the asking price of the engine via western union. I played with this fool for months.
He finally called me getting desperate and they actually produced a check on a big bank in NY for 15 grand.
I called the bank and no such number, BUT, big but they get good checking account numbers from fools that send them checks and then write up phony checks on those good account numbers.
The only way would be to call the bank, contact the owner of the account and make sure its legit. Foreign checks can take 6 months or a year to bounce as they go thru international bank collections procedures, they can get charged back to your account way way after your think everything is cool. Secret service does investigate this type of fraud but its volume is now so high they dont have the resources to go after all the hucksters.
The funniest thing was this clown called me every day for a week and god bless me and have a nice day, very convicing and then I let him have it.
Friendly
03-31-2004, 06:44 PM
you guys did a great job of exposing this fraud fast, I tried to get the email address but for some reason I could not load the web pages once inside the ebay signin. I am a state parole officer. I learn new
scams everyday. I wanted to have a friend at the A.G office check into this but you've saved me the trouble.
E-mail address is " CLARICE JACKSON " <sales_manger@web-market.us>
I got the same E-mail that Scott did .
Hognose
04-05-2004, 01:54 AM
Gents,
somewhere in one of the other threads Greg G. had some fun with the drip pulling this scam. "Clarice Jackson" tried to private sell the gyro to Greg with the exact same email, which tickled his funny bone as some of the pictures (the ones in the original eBay ad) came from Greg's MagniUSA website.
Unfortunately, the multiple emails show that these scamsters can sell the same gyro (or whatever; I first saw these scams in computer auctions) dozens of times. They are not constrained by the need to deliver one product to one buyer like legitimate businesses.
Now, there are a couple or three gyros on eBay right now, but at a glance the ads all look legit. Two RAFs and an old Bensen.
cheers
-=K=-
Mike Jackson
04-05-2004, 07:11 AM
This scam mthod is alsp rampant with motorcycles on eBay....and who knows what else.
Mike Jackson
Terry_Smith
04-05-2004, 02:57 PM
Oh DARN! I just got back from 2 week businees trip to Germany, and I was in Munich to boot. I should've looked up this joker. I was SO glad to get back into the USA. :D
Terry
There is a gyro on eBay:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=63680&item=2470074 534#ebayphotohosting
A Magni M-18 gyro and the bid is just over $100!
Hi Ken i'm in Perth Australia would you ever be interested in building another gyro like yours and sending it to Australia if you are could you please contact me on email guuy@iinet.net.au with details i.e cost etc.
Thanks Ken .
Guy Wilson
p.s Love your gyro!!
vBulletin® v3.8.4, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.