PDA

View Full Version : Mac 72 hp engine problems

PR Gyro Pilot
06-09-2005, 06:44 AM
I have a mac 72hp, engine with a 50-26 prop on it. the problem that I have is that Im only getting around 3200rpm. and thats not enoght power for takeoff and climb, that a good RPM for mantaining altitude. I have a holley 1920 carb with a 65 jet. the engine has 3ring pistons and good compresion. I notice a small leak on the rear cranckshaft seal, that is been replace this weekend. other than that I dont see anything else. I have friends that have the same engine with 50-30 props that get more RPM than me.
What would be an optimum RPM for that engine?
what should be the fuel consumption of that engine per hr?

Im new to this engines, I used to fly a gyro with a subaru engine and RFI reduction drive that produced 425+pnds of thrust. and I sold that gyro like 2yrs ago because I wanted a lighter weight machine.

Now I have a bensen with mac 72hp, but I feel that the machine will not climb as fast as it should.

C. Beaty
06-09-2005, 05:17 PM
The original, chrome plated 72 cylinders were permanent mold castings.

Where the transfer passages turn the corner to enter the cylinder, there are frequently aluminum flashes where the mold pieces separated.

Removing these flashes can make a large difference.

Also, make sure the cylinder base gaskets aren’t partially obstructing the transfer passages.

Make sure the ignition timing is correct. Remove the carburetor and you can spot the timing mark on the rotary valve. The points should just begin to open when the timing marks are lined up. We used to always to retard ignition by about 1/8” at the mag mounting ears. Rotating the mag in the same direction as crankshaft rotation retards ignition.

PR Gyro Pilot
06-11-2005, 05:48 PM